.passion.love.pride.

The french sleep in

Posted on: April 25, 2010

After a hasty dash from 666 Spadina (unfortunately leaving my roommates to clear up a bit of my mess – sorry about that!) to take a 2 hour detour to Talia’s place to retrieve my handphone before reaching the airport, I sat on the plane and thought about recent memories of Toronto.

And then I fell asleep, and when I opened my eyes, I was already midway to Quebec City.

I slept through take-off! My first take-off that I missed – I always do a 10 second countdown to take-off and landing. I didn’t miss the landing, if that’s what you’re wondering. Hurhur.

That aside, Quebec City seems beautiful! My cab driver Hugo was really nice, and he really struggled to find the right words in English to explain things to me. Going out for just over an hour just now revealed a quaint, laid-back city where there’s just enough people that saying “Bonjour” out loud to practise my french is not awkward.

Speaking of which, almost everything is in french here. I have to learn some words! The few that I know: sortie, jardin, boisson, poisson, bonjour, merci won’t be doing much for me!

And it seems people here sleep in, and close early. Haha!

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

