.passion.love.pride.

35 more days – and he tells me so

Posted on: April 6, 2010

Oh my dear. It’s April already – I was so wrapped up with my essays and assignments (and I still am) that I only realised today exactly how soon I’ll be home! Just 20 more days and I’m flying off around Canada, 35 more days and I’m HOME. On my doorstep. In my oh-so-Singaporean bed.

I started packing today, just to get a feel of how much I can bring back home, and if I need a new luggage bag. Most of my clothes have fit into the chinaman bag, hopefully everything else that I want to bring home can fit into my remaining pieces of luggage (ie. my backpack that is supposed to be a hand-carry and my smallish canvas luggage bag). Eek. Now it seems a little bit of a mammoth task. Hurhur.

So the advice for future program students? Don’t bring so many clothes lah. I wore most of my field clothes, but only during field studies (which wasn’t too long). I ended up buying some clothes, so you can probably count on that to fill up a bit of wardrobe and get souvenirs at the same time.

Back up, back up back up. Back up all your content, periodically, regularly, to the point of being obsessive. You never know – besides, it’s good practice for honours year, because really, you don’t want to cry when you’re done with data collecting and all that’s left to do is the writing up, before you realise that everything’s gone either because you lost your laptop, the data got corrupted, or your laptop crashed. Murphy’s law man, Murphy’s watching, I’m telling you. Everyone wants to be right – and Murphy usually is.

Also, travel to your heart’s content. Immerse yourself here. It’s such a beautiful intellectual ferment; here I get to bask in the light of knowledge, and how apt that I live just 200m across from the second largest library in the whole of North America. Make friends, meet people, get out there. Eat, cook, braise everything in culinary joy! This is what I relish about being independent, though I do wish everything was cheaper.

In any case. I’ve had such a blast here, I know this is an amazing part of my life – and I almost can’t believe that everything’s going to change very, very soon.

I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO HONOURS YEAR!!!

On another note, here are more hilarious typos that came recently:

mindy + mins = minsy
leave = leaf
crucial = cruel
ie. “The type of substrate used for metabolism in bears is hence especially cruel.”

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

