.passion.love.pride.

mites in the circus

Posted on: October 23, 2009

It feels so good to work out. (: Makes me happy (: And then I take a bite of chocolate afterwards, and there you have it. Heaven. (:

I went to the silviculture lab earlier to meet Jessica Stokes, student of the Thomas Lab in UofT for my interview. She’s recruiting volunteers and paid helpers to help out with her project. Disappointingly, the job didn’t require any sampling in the canopy – but processing of the samples instead. So no, I wasn’t going to any hardwood forests to help her, I was going to the lab to help her. And yes, I got the ‘job’! Yayys! (:

So I’m giving her 6 hours a week tentatively on Mondays and Tuesdays, and we’ll see how it goes from there. Also told her I would be going for holidays here and there, and its good that we’re all communicating on our expectations both on her side and mine. Excited!

Hopefully I’ll get to use the scanning electromicroscope (to even see one would be a bonus!) and some other cool equipment. Her project lasts till March, and it’s on the mites that live on sugar-maple trees, that cause the growth of galls (picture below). Vertical mite diversity in temperate hardwood forests. Cool huh? :D I’m really happy I’m getting myself involved in something now at least!

On another note, I just came back from watching Cirque du Soleil’s Ovo show at Lakeshore near the waterfront in Toronto! IT’S SO GOOD. No, seriously? If Cirque comes to Singapore again, I am buying tickets. Let me know if you’re in. (: And Alegria, the last show they had in Singapore, was supposedly really really really good.


This show was on insects (if you look closely at the figures you can see grasshoppers and spiders) and the egg (ovo) – AND IT’S SO COOL, some of the ideas they use and how they execute it out. If you catch this show, look out for the last bit, which is my favourite by far. Trampolines. Oh. My. Gosh. THE best part EVER. Also, tightrope guy was a favourite among the audiences – he’s the absolute muscle man, man. (:

And I find it really amusing that even the shows I go to have insects in them. Entomology man, that’s the way to go. (:

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

